Administrative Teams

The Administrative Teams are comprised of persons that are selected by the Nominations and Leadership Develop Team to servefor a three year period. This annual nomination process begins in August and he nominees are confirmed at the annual Charge Conference. A Nominee must be a member of the Crystal River United Methodist Church who is currently practicing the five fruitful practices. If you have interest in serving on one of the Administrative Teams listed below as an elected leader please send an email to If you have any questions about the process, please contact Rev. David Rawls at or 352-795-3148. Please click on the committee titles below for more information.

Church Council

The Church Council exists to create and supervise the strategic plan for Crystal River United Methodist Church, so that we as a congregation will fulfull our mission of making disciples of Jesus Christ. This twofold function includes both leadership and management. Leadership is the visionary "big picture" work that assesses critically our current reality, where God is calling us into the future, and what are the resources needed to move us from our current reality into the desired future. Management is the essential "detail work" that must be accomplished on a daily basis to make Crystal River effective in serving the Kingdom of God. Meetings are held six times a year or on an as needed basis to address the work of the team. If you have any questions, please contact Ron Bass at or 352-563-0943.


Chairperson - Ron Bass
Lay Leader - Mary McClean
Treasurer - Judy Leavitt
Recording Secretary - Karen Janota
SPRC - David Woods
Youth President - CJ Lawson
Trustees - Charlie Ayers
Finance - Gary Williams
Celebrate Recovery - Sandy Mirable
Youth Leader - Scott Witte
Children's Leader - Melody Hinson
BBP Business Manager - Michele Rawls
Worship Leader - Frank Pifer
Pastor - Reverend David Rawls
UMW President - Jan Kegan
CCM - Will/Sandy Tripp
Membership Secretary-Tonya Briggs

Finance Team

The Finance Team is charged with providing leadership in order to fund the Ministries of the church that nurture persons in their faith. The Finance Team develops, indentifies, administers, perfects, and manages the financial process for the congregation. It oversees the financial health, the annual audit, provides financial direction, and communicates the financial health to the Church Council and the Congregation. Meetings are held on the second Tuesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. Questions may be directed to Gary Williams at or 352-795-6369.

Chairperson - Gary Williams
Treasurer - Judy Leavitt
Church Council - Ron Bass
Secretary - Marie Demascus
Pastor - Reverend David Rawls
Staff Parrish - David Woods
Assistant Secretary - Sheryl Bartle
At Large - Lois Bump
Trustees - Charlie Ayers
Lay Leader - Mary McClean
Youth Leader - Scott & Marie Witte
At Large Member - Char Waters


Trustees Team

The Trustee Team is charged with the responsibility to manage all church property including real, personal and intellectual properties. Report the Charge Conference the condition and the status of all properties, investments, equipment and resources. Receive and administer all gifts given to the church and make sure all trust funds of the church are invested properly. Keep the articles of incorporation up to date and that proper insurance coverage on all properties is adequate. The Trustees Team meets on the first Tuesday of each month at 6:30 p.m.

Chairperson - Charlie Ayers
Class of 2016 Class of 2017 Class of 2018
Charlie Ayerst
Keith Cleary
Tom Metcalf
Jenny Bass
Curtis Mckeown
Terry Rook
Nancy Bacon

Staff Parrish Team

The Staff Parrish Team works with the Staff, the Pastor and the Congregation in matters of personnel and employment policies. The Team sets employment policies, procedures, and guides the work of the key management personnel. This team is also charged with the responsibility to foster a healthy and respectful working environment between the congregation, staff, management and clergy. Meetings are held on the third Tuesday night of each month at 6:30 p.m. If you have any questions you may contact Mary McClean at or 352-795-0068.


Chairperson - David Woods Church Council Chair - Ron Bass Lay Leader - Mary McClean
Class of 2016 Class of 2017 Class of 2018
George Bacon
Jim Roth
Dana Froe
Sandy Mirable
Lynne Ann Penfold
Teresa Jenkins
Jane Meek
David Woods
Judy Fowler

Nominations and Leadership Development Team

The Nominations Team oversees the identification, development, care, equipping, and the deployment of Spiritual Leaders for the mission of the church. Key initiatives include training and support, preparing the annual nomination's list, and providing oversight of the volunteer's service and the leadership development at the Crystal River UMC. Team meetings are held six times a year or on an as needed basis to address the work of the team. Currently we have three openings on this team. If you have any questions, please contact Jan Metcalf, our church Lay Leader, at or 352-344-2020.


Chairperson - Reverend David Rawls
Class of 2016 Class of 2017 Class of 2018
Mary McClean
Jane Keegan
Frank Pifer
Tonya Briggs
Jayne Stanley
Jan Metcalf
Cliff Millard




Copyright 2017 Crystal River United Methodist Church
4801 N Citrus Ave. Crystal River, FL 34428 

Designed By Performance Marketing Inc ~ Maintenance & Hosting By BusinessMasters.Net